Tokyo 2020: Jamaican Sprinter Elaine Thompson sets new Olympic Record

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

amaican Sprinter Elaine Thompson sets new Olympic Record | SportzPoint
Jamaican sprinter Elaine Thompson Herah breaks Florence Griffith Joyner's 33-year-old Olympic record in the Women's 100 meters finals.
Web Stories

On July 31, 2021, Jamaican sprinter Elaine Thompson Herah successfully defended her Olympic title in the women’s 100m final. During this process, she simultaneously broke Florence Griffith Joyner’s 33-year-old Olympic record. Florence Griffith Joyner also known as Flo-Jo held this record for 33 years since 1988. Elaine Thompson-Herah set the new record of 10.61 seconds and became the second-fastest ever to complete a women’s 100m race.

Also Read: Tokyo Olympics 2020 Live Updates and Results: Sindhu and Rani loses in big matches

Jamaican sprinter Elaine Thompson Herah successfully defended her Olympic title in the women's 100m final | SportzPoint

It was an all Jamaican clean sweep at the women’s 100m race as Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce, Thompson-Herah’s rival, won the silver medal after finishing the event in 10.74 seconds. Shericka Jackson, also from Jamaica, took the bronze medal with a time of 10.76.

Also Read World No. 1 Amit Panghal crashes exits out of Tokyo Olympics boxing at the first hurdle

Elaine’s timing in Tokyo broke the Olympics record of 33 years set by American Florence Griffith-Joyner in 1988. She is also the second Jamaican woman to defend her title in the event. After Shelly-Ann’s back-to-back wins in 2008 and 2012. The win also continues Jamaica’s domination in the event, winning the gold since the 2008 Beijing Olympics and finishing in the top three since the 1992 Barcelona Olympics.

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

Every result from India vs Pakistan Asia Cup Clash Haaland and Bonmati won the UEFA Player of the Year India vs Pakistan record in Asia Cup Kevin de Bruyne : Eight years of midfield magic at City Rohit Sharma’s strike rate vs average in ODIs Suryakumar Yadav gears up for Asia Cup 2023 Top 5 : Fastest batters to 5000 ODI runs Most 100s in international Cricket among Current Players KL Rahul will miss the group stage matches of the Asia Cup 2023 Manchester City forward wins PFA men’s Player of the Year award