FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers: Portugal on the plane to Qatar along with Poland and 21 others

Share on:

Follow us on Google News:

FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers: Portugal on the plane to Qatar along with Poland and 21 others | Football News | Sportz Point
Bruno Fernandes' brace in the FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers helped Portugal and Cristiano Ronaldo book their place at the Qatar World Cup.
Web Stories

A FIFA World Cup 2022 without Cristiano Ronaldo? Well, that was surely on cards. However, both team Portugal and Ronaldo are heading to the Qatar world cup as they defeated North Macedonia to qualify for the finals. A double strike from Bruno Fernandes in the FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers was enough for the Portugal team to qualify for the most awaited FIFA World Cup.

Bruno Fernandes first found the back of the nets in the 32nd minute of the match. Cristiano Ronaldo’s assist was good enough for the United striker to make it 1-0 for his team. Later, it was again Bruno with the goal as Diego Jota’s cross from the left-wing found the striker. North Macedonia had started well, but could not maintain the pace against a dedicated Portuguese team.

Read Also: Canada qualifies for the World Cup after 36 years

Stats to look at

  1. This is Ronaldo’s fifth World Cup, the most by any Portuguese player.
  2. Portugal before Ronaldo’s debut had played only 3 World Cups in 72 years. Post Ronaldo’s debut, this will be their 5th World Cup in 20 years.

Read Also: FIFA World Cup 2022: Byju’s announced as the official sponsor of the Qatar World Cup

FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers: Teams that qualified tonight

  1. Portugal
  2. Poland
  3. Senegal

Robert Lewandoski led Poland to a massive 2-0 victory over Sweden to book a place in the FIFA World Cup 2022. Meanwhile, Sadio Mane’s Senegal kicked out his Liverpool mate Mohammed Salah’s Egypt from the World Cup run.

All the qualified teams in FIFA World Cup 2022

Till now 23 teams have booked their place for the Qatar World Cup 2022. Below are the teams which have qualified for the tournament.

Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Ecuador, England, France, Germany, Ghana, IR Iran, Japan, Korea Republic, Netherlands, Qatar, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, Uruguay.

Share on:

Follow US

SportzPoint Sign Up
Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get notified about new articles, news and offers!

Praggnanandhaa loses to Magnus Carlsen in the tiebreaker Jasprit Bumrah’s sensational numbers in Asia Wahab Riaz Announces Retirement From International Cricket Ronaldo involved in half-time spat as Al-Nassr mounts comeback Arshdeep Singh in tremendous form ahead of World Cup Lionel Messi: Most Decorated player of all time FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 complete list of awards Top 10 players with the most goals in Women’s World Cup history Winners of FIFA Women’s World Cup La Roja wins their first ever world cup