Premier League Player of the year: Winners in the last 10 years

Premier League Player of the year: Winners in the last 10 years

The Premier League Player of the Year has been announced and De Bruyne has won it twice in a row now. He's the third player to achieve this feat. In this article, we will look at the players who won this award in the past 10 years.

The Premier League player of the year is a prestigious award to have in your inventory. The best player in an entire year in the Premier League wins this title. Only players like Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Kevin De Bruyne managed to win the award twice in a row. Let us look at the list of players who have won the award in the last 10 years.

List of players to win the Premier League player of the year in last 10 years (2011-2021)

Robin Van Persie (2011-12)

Robin Van Persie
Image – Eurosport

The Arsenal superstar Robin Van Persie won the Premier League player of the year in the 2011-12 season. The Dutch scored 27 goals for the gunners that season. It was also the most successful campaign for him at the club. The then 28-year old Dutch International also bagged the FWA footballer of the year and the (FPY) Fans Player of the year award.

Gareth Bale (2012-13)

Gareth Bale
Image – FourFourTwo

Gareth Bale of the spurs was a beast in the premier league. He won the player of the year 2nd time after 2010-11. Bale won both the young player and player of the year and became the third player to do so. He enjoyed a terrific season with goals galore. He has scored 19 Premier League goals – and 24 in all competitions. Bale also bagged the PPS award in that season.

Luis Suarez (2013-14)

Luis Suarez
Image – The Mirror

Luis Suarez became the first South American and non-European player to win the award. Despite being the top scorer with 30 goals in the premier league including two hat-tricks and four in one match he was criticized heavily for his actions on the field. He was heavily trolled for his actions in the previous year against Chelsea's Branislav Ivanovic, an indiscretion that resulted in a 10-match suspension. Despite all this factors, Suarez brought Liverpool so close to title since 1990. Suarez left Liverpool to join Barcelona in the following season.

Eden Hazard (2014-15)

Eden Hazard
Image – The Guardian

The Belgium winger was one of the best players to grace the pitch for the Blues. He had a massive impact on the Chelsea side which won the premier league in 2014-15. He beat stiff competition from Manchester United's David De Gea and Tottenham's Harry Kane to win the award. Hazard had a very good season with 13 goals and helping the team with 8 assists.

Riyad Mahrez (2015-16)

Riyad Mahrez
Image – Amino Apps

The fairytale finish in the history of the Premier League was when Leicester City won the Premier League defying all odds. Mahrez had an outstanding season which made him a target for big clubs. The Algerian scored 17 goals and made 11 assists in that season to help crown Leicester the kings of England. Later Mahrez was picked by Manchester City. He was also the Fans Player of the year.

N'golo Kante (2016-17)

N'golo Kante
Image – Football Whispers

Following the title-winning run at Leicester City, Chelsea picked up the French midfielder who played a very crucial role behind Chelsea's title-winning run. The 26-year-old beat Blues team-mate – and 2015's winner – Eden Hazard to the prize, along with Tottenham striker Harry Kane, Alexis Sanchez of Arsenal, Manchester United's Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Premier League top scorer Romelu Lukaku of Everton. He also won the PPS award for his brilliant performance as a box to box midfielder. At present Kante is one of those players who has the PL, UCL and the World Cup under his belt.

Mohamed Salah (2017-18)

Mohamed Salah
image – Squawka

One of the main reason behind the rising Liverpool dominance was Mohamed Salah. The Egyptian impressed everybody and was even called Egyptian Messi for the time being. Salah scored a record number of 31 goals in 33 premier league games for Klopp. The £34m summer signing from Roma, was just the fifth player to register more than 40 goal involvements in a single Premier League season (31 goals, nine assists).

Virgil Van Dijk (2018-19)

Virgil Van Dijk
Image – Liverpool FC

Another pillar in the Liverpool defence who played a massive part in Liverpool's Champions League title was Virgil Van Dijk. The Dutch international turned things upside down for Liverpool after his arrival. Since joining Liverpool from Southampton for a world-record fee for a defender of £75m. He enlisted his name in a very special list of defenders who won the PFA player of the year award. He was the first defender to win this award since John Terry (2004-05). Van Dijk managed to keep 19 clean sheets in 39 premier league games and also contributed three goals and two assists during the campaign.

Kevin De Bruyne (2019-20, 2020-21)

Kevin De Bruyne
Image – NZ Sports Wire

One of the most promising attacking midfielders in the game has won the PFA Premier League Player of the year twice in a row now. He's only the third player to achieve this feat after Thierry Henry (2002-03, 2003-04) and Cristiano Ronaldo (2006-07, 2007-08). The captain of Manchester City led his team to the Premier League title this year but had to face a disappointing loss in the UCL final against Chelsea. His fellow teammate Ruben Dias won the premier league player of the season award and manager Pep Guardiola won the manager of the season.

Follow us on Google News.

Related Stories

No stories found.