Sir Alex Ferguson & Arsene Wenger get inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame 2023

Sir Alex Ferguson & Arsene Wenger, the two greatest managers of Manchester United & Arsenal were inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame

Abishek Goswami
New Update
premier league hall of fame: Sir Alex Ferguson & Arsene Wenger | Sportz Point

The Premier League Hall of Fame was started in 2021. It has luminaries like David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Thierry Henry, Roy Keane, Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard Alan Shearer, Sergio Aguero, Didier Drogba, Vincent Kompany, Wayne Rooney, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Patrick Vieira and Ian Wright making Ferguson and Wenger the first managers to bag this honor. The duo created a remarkable legacy with Manchester United and Arsenal respectively, winning a combined 16 Premier League titles as they established one of the most famed rivalries in Premier League history.

Read Also: Scotland vs Spain: Mctominay brace helps Scotland in historic 2-0 victory

Premier League Hall of Fame

Sir Alex Ferguson:

Former Manchester United manager Ferguson is the most successful manager in Premier League history with a record 13 titles, including winning the title for an unprecedented three seasons in a row on two separate occasions.

During an incredible 27-year career at Old Trafford, which incorporated 21 Premier League seasons, his Man Utd side won the inaugural Premier League title in 1992/93 to deliver the Red Devils' first league success since 1967 and started the remarkable era of success. The squad rebuilt several times, including a commitment to nurturing prodigious homegrown talents during his tenure at the club. The "Class of 92", along with a plethora of international superstars are prime examples of that. He finished his career with the Red Devils with a final Premier League title in 2012/13. Six players managed by Ferguson have already been inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame: David Beckham, Eric Cantona, Roy Keane, Wayne Rooney, Peter Schmeichel, and Paul Scholes.

Sir Alex's all-time Premier League record stands at 528 wins from 810 matches and 1,752 points accumulated. He won Manager of the Season 11 times and collected the Manager of the Month award on 27 occasions.

"It's an honour when you receive recognition like this. However, it's not just about me as a person. It's about the job at Manchester United and the bond we had over many years, so I'm also proud of the club, the staff and my players. My job was to send the fans home happy. United's history and my own expectations were the things that drove me," Ferguson said.

Arsene Wenger:

Arsene Wenger's 22 seasons in charge of Arsenal is a Premier League record. He won the Premier League three times and made history in 2003/04 as "The Invincibles" became the only team to win the title while remaining unbeaten throughout the entire campaign. Arriving as one of the first foreign managers in the Premier League in 1996, Wenger's impact was just remarkable.

He raised standards through a revolutionary football philosophy and commitment to playing attractive, attacking football. He led Arsenal to win the title in 1997/98, his first full season with the club. Wenger oversaw a transfer strategy, including scouting abroad for talents. It notably brought about the signings of fellow Hall of Fame members Thierry Henry and Patrick Vieira. Wenger has managed a record 828 Premier League matches, including 476 wins and 199 draws. He won the Manager of the Season award in 1998, 2002, and 2004.

"I'd like to be known as someone who loved Arsenal, who respected the values of the club and left it in a position where it can grow and become even bigger. To share this with Sir Alex is a great honor for me. It's like two boxers, you fight like mad and go the distance together. At the end of the day, you have respect and it will be a great opportunity to meet with him, share a good bottle of wine and memories of our old battles," Wenger said.

Manchester United Arsenal Premier League Alex Ferguson