Sunil Chhetri will lead the Indian Team in the Asian Games

AIFF announced 17-member Indian Football Team squad on Wednesday for the upcoming Asian games in Hangzhou.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Asian Games | Sunil Chhetri will lead the Indian Team in the Asian Games | Sportz Point

Sunil Chhetri was the only notable face in the 17-member Indian squad for the Hangzhou Asian Games as the All India Football Federation (AIFF) finally managed to acquire a second-rung team. There is still a big question mark on head coach Igor Stimac accompanying the team. Most of the clubs are not comfortable releasing the 22 players named in the Indian squad because the Asian Games' schedule clashes with the ISL, which starts on September 21.

Read Also: 'We Have Respect For The National Team,' – East Bengal Head Coach On Indian Players Ahead of the Asian Games

AIFF announced an under-strength team made up of nine players from the original 22, including Chhetri. The remaining players are inexperienced.

AIFF acquired the team just three days before its departure for China. They still thanked the Indian Super League clubs and the FSDL.

AIFF's Gratitude and Challenges

The AIFF expressed its heartfelt gratitude to the Indian Super League (ISL) clubs and the Football Sports Development Limited (FSDL) for their unwavering support and cooperation in releasing players for the Asian Games. This collaboration demonstrates the collective effort to bolster the Indian Football Team's prospects on the international stage.

Mr. Kalyan Chaubey, the President of AIFF, acknowledged the demanding nature of the current football season in India. He remarked, "It has been a hectic time for Indian football this season. We have had to manage a tight schedule within a short period, which was no small feat."

India Squad: Gurmeet Singh, Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, Sumit Rathi, Narender Gahlot, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Samuel James, Rahul KP, Abdul Rabeeh Anjukandan, Ayush Dev Chhetri, Bryce Miranda, Azfar Noorani, Rahim Ali, Vincy Bareto, Sunil Chhetri, Rohit Danu, Gurkirat Singh, Aniket Jadhav.

Asian Games Football Indian Football Indian Footballers Sunil Chhetri