Women's Champions League: Most titles by clubs

In this article, we'll have a look into the football teams who have won the most Women's Champions League titles in the history of the competition.

Debangshu Biswas
Updated On
New Update
Lyon have won eight Women's Champions League titles

Lyon have won eight Women's Champions League titles | Image: UEFA

The UEFA Women's Champions League is the highest level of competition in club football for women. It involves the top club teams from countries affiliated with the European governing body UEFA. The competition was first played in 2001. UEFA changed the name of the competition in 2009. The inclusion of runners-up from the top eight ranked nations was one of the most significant changes in 2009. Other changes include the removal of the two-legged final. The finals further became one-legged just like the men's final. The same cities hosted both the women's and men's final till 2018. From the 2021-22 season, UEFA included group stages in the Women's Champions League.

Most titles in the Women's Champions League

1. Lyon (8 titles)

Lyon won 5 consecutive WCL titles between 2016-20 | Image: CNN

The Olympique De Lyonnais Women's Club from France have won the most titles in the history of the tournament. It has won a record-breaking five consecutive titles from 2016 to 2020. The other two titles came in 2011 and 2012 consecutively. Lyon also holds the record for the most final appearances (10) out of which they have won 8. They also appeared 12 times in the semi-finals which is more than any club in the competition. France has achieved 8 titles and Lyon have brought all of them.

Also Read: Top10 highest-paid female athletes of 2020-21

2. FFC Frankfurt (4 titles)

Second highest women's champions league title holder- SportzPoint
Frankfurt's 4th WCL trophy | Image: UEFA

FFC Frankfurt from Germany has the second-highest titles in the competition. They won three titles during the two-legged finals in 2002, 2006 and 2008. The other title came in the single-legged finals against PSG in 2015. They have the second most final appearances (6) just after Lyon. They also come behind Lyon in the most semi-final appearances (8). Out of the 9 titles that Germany achieved Frankfurt contributed 4 in them. Germany has the most titleholders in the competition as well.

Barcelona Femeni (2 titles)

Barcelona Femini 1st Woman Champions League - SportzPoint
Barcelona Femini's first WCL title | Image: UEFA

FC Barcelona Femeni became the first club to provide Spain with a Women's Champions League title. They won the Champions League last season, beating Wolfsberg by 3-2. They were always the best team in Spain but weren't winning any Champions League titles. Now they have two titles as they beat Lyon by 2-0 in the 2023-24 WCL final. Bonmati and Putellas scored the goals which were enough to beat the most successful side in Europe.

3. Turbine Potsdam (2 titles)

2 times Women's Champion's league winner - SportzPoint
Potsdam with the WCL title | Image: DW

Turbine Potsdam is also a club from Germany that has won 2 titles in the competition. They won one title in 2005 during the two-legged final beating Djurgården. The other title came in a one-off final in 2010 where they beat Lyon in penalties. They have doubled the final appearances than their titles. Potsdam have also appeared 6 times in the semi-finals.

Also read: Football facts: Players who won the PL, UCL and World Cup

4. Umeå (2 titles)

The club from Sweden has two titles. They are the only ones to prove it in the competition from Sweden. They have the third-highest final appearance in the competition(5) behind Lyon and Frankfurt. Umeå have 7 semi-final appearances just behind Frankfurt. Both of their titles came in the two-legged finals in 2003 and 2004. They beat Fortuna Hjørringe 7-1 and Frankfurt by 8-0 to lift their titles respectively. Umeå lost to Frankfurt in 2002 in a one-off final and successfully avenged them in 2004.

5. Wolfsburg (2 titles)

Wolfsburg Women's Champions League team - SportzPoint
Wolfsburg Women's Team with the WCL title | Image: X

The German club has 2 titles similar to Potsdam. They won their titles in one-off finals in 2013 and 2014 beating Lyon(1-0) and Tyresö (4-3) respectively. They have 5 final appearances and 6 semi-final appearances. Their final in Lisbon in 2014 was a rollercoaster ride as it was a goal galore.

Read Also: UEFA Women's Champions League: Past winners since 2002

Clubs with a single title


Arsenal women winning team - SportzPoint
Arsenal Women's team after winning the UEFA Women's Cup | Image: UEFA

Arsenal have made 6 Semi-final appearances and holds the record for the most quarter-final appearances(13). They are the only club in England to win a Women's Champions League title. They won the title in 2007 beating Umeå 1-0 in the two-legged finals.


Duisberg's first champions league title - SportzPoint
Duisburg's first WCL title | Image: UEFA

Duisburg, another club from Germany is on this list. They beat Zvezda 7-1 in 2009 to secure their first-ever title. Winning the UEFA Women's Cup in 2009 and with success in the German championship (2000) and the cup (twice), FCR Duisburg was one of the top teams in German women's football. But in 2013, the club filed for insolvency and the players formed a new women's team at MSV Duisburg.

Football Womens Champions League FC Barcelona Femeni Lyon Olympique De Lyonnais