Most ODI Centuries in Cricket History

Virat Kohli needs 4 more ODI centuries to go past Sachin Tendulkar to become the player with the Most ODI Centuries.

Abishek Goswami
New Update
Most ODI Centuries | Sportz Point

If we compare the batting records of recent years and the past years in international cricket, we can see the change and the rise in scoring runs, and most centuries have increased massively. But still there are some Legends in the game who has achieved many records in the last decade & have scored most no of centuries. They have set the bar high, to achieve that one has to be very consistent in the field. But it looks like two players of this top 10 list are going to give them neck to neck fight. Let's go through the list and know who has scored the Most ODI Centuries in Cricket History.

Most ODI Centuries

1. Sachin Tendulkar | India | 49 Centuries

most odi centuries : Sachin Tendulkar | Sportz Point

Sachin Tendulkar

Image - mid-day

The ''Little Master" has showed the world why he is called the "God Of Cricket". In his 23 years of Successful career, He represented India in 452 ODI innings and smashed 49 centuries during this period. He scored his last century against Bangladesh in 2012 Asia Cup. It was his 100th International century - highest by any player in the cricket history.

Read Also : Most International Centuries by Indians

2. Virat Kohli | India | 46* Centuries

most odi centuries : Virat Kohli | Sportz Point

Virat Kohli
Image - Open Magazine

Virat Kohli is Considered as the Best Batsman of this Modern Era & he has proved every inch of that statement right by his Greatness. Post Covid time was not a great time in his career, many fans had a doubt about his return in form but there came the comeback of the " G.O.A.T" of Cricket. he is now in the second position right behind Sachin Tendulkar with 46 Centuries, which he scored on Sunday 15th Jan 2023 against Sri Lanka.

3. Ricky Ponting | Australia | 30 Centuries

Ricky Ponting | Sportz Point

Ricky Ponting
Image -

Ricky Ponting was Considered as One of the Best Captain of his time. He is in the 3rd position of this list with 30 centuries. A consistent batsman with so many great innings which led Australia to the highest Peak of the World Cricket. He scored his last ODI century against India in 2011.

4. Rohit Sharma | India | 29* Centuries

Rohit Sharma | Sportz Point

Rohit Sharma
Image - ICC Cricket

A perfect example of a limited overs opener. Indian Skipper Rohit Sharma is one of the Finest Cricketer of this Modern Cricket era. He is right behind Ricky Ponting with 29 Centuries. He scored 5 centuries in the 2019 World Cup - highest by any player in a single World Cup.

5. Sanath Jayasuriya | Sri Lanka | 28 Centuries

Sanath Jayasuriya | Sportz Point

Sanath Jayasuriya
Image - Cricket Australia

Sanath Jayasuriya is one of the best batsman in the History of Sri Lanka. He is in the 5th position of this list with 28 centuries. Jayasuriya's highest ODI score is 189 runs, scored against India in Sharjah in 2000. It remains the highest ODI score by a Sri Lankan, and at the time of the innings it was the third-highest in ODI history. He scored his last century against India in 2009.

Read Also : Most Centuries in international cricket since 2016

6. Hashim Amla | South Africa | 27 Centuries

Hashim Amla | Sportz Point

Hashim Amla
Image - ICC Cricket

Hashim Amla is a perfect example of limited overs opener. He is one of the best batsman in the cricket history of South Africa. He has represented South Africa in 178 ODI innings & scored 27 centuries - highest ever by a South African player. He scored his last century against Pakistan in 2019.

7. AB de Villiers | South Africa | 25 Centuries

Ab De villiers | Sportz Point

AB de Villiers
Image - Times of Sports

Abraham Benjamin de Villiars is considered as the most Dangerous Batsman In Limited overs Cricket. The South African Legend represented his country in 218 ODI innings & scored 25 centuries. He holds the record for scoring the fastest century in ODI cricket, reaching the milestone in just 31 balls against the West Indies in 2015. He scored his last century against Bangladesh in 2017.

8. Chris Gayle | West Indies | 25 Centuries

most odi centuries : Chris Gayle | Sportz Point

Chris Gayle
Image - MPL

Christopher Henry Gayle is a Sportsman who is loved by everyone except the opposition bowlers. A destructive batsman, every bowler feared but also a entertainer every cricket fans loved to watch. He represented West Indies in 294 ODI innings and scored 25 centuries - highest ever by any west Indies player. He scored his last centuries against England in 2019.

9. Kumar Sangakkara | Sri Lanka | 25 Centuries

Kumar Sangakkara | Sportz Point

Kumar Sangakkara
Image - ICC Cricket

One of the most elegant left-handers to have ever played the game. A Leader who led Sri Lanka from the frontline. He represented his country in 380 ODI innings & smashed 25 centuries.  He scored 4 centuries in a row in 2015 and became the first batsman to achieve that incredible record in World Cup History. Sangakkara's last century came against Scotland in 2015.

10. Sourav Ganguly | India | 22 Centuries

Sourav Ganguly | Sportz Point

Sourav Ganguly
Image - Youngisthan.In

Sourav Ganguly popularly known as "Dada" is the pure example of a Left handed Opener & a Leader. He led India to that famous Series win at England, The Shirt Celebration is still iconic. He represented India in 300 ODI innings & during this period he scored 22 centuries. Dada's last century came against Kenya in 2003.

Tillakaratne Dilshan | Sri Lanka | 22 Centuries

Tillakaratne Dilshan | Sportz Point

Tillakaratne Dilshan
Image - The Quint

The inventor of "Dilscoop" Tillakaratne Dilshan was one of the best Batsman of his time. He was an important pillar of the Sri Lanka team. A batsman with varieties of skills, consistency & mentality was the definition of Dilshan. He represented Sri Lanka in 303 ODI innings & smashed 22 centuries. dilshan's last ODI century came against Scotland in 2015.

Most ODI Centuries : Sportz Point

Most ODI Centuries

N.B : These stats are accurate as of 17.01.2023

Chris Gayle Indian Cricket Team Bcci Kumar Sangakkara Ricky Ponting Sachin Tendulkar Sourav Ganguly Virat Kohli Rohit Sharma