UEFA Men’s player of the year winners in last 10 years

UEFA Men’s player of the year winners in last 10 years

The UEFA Men's Player of the Year Award (previously known as the UEFA Best Player in Europe Award) is an association football award given to the footballer playing for a men's football club in Europe that is considered the best in the previous season of both club and national team competition.

UEFA Men's player of the year award is for an individual who produces extraordinary performance in a single season in Europe. Many great players have won the award for their charismatic performances for both their club and national team. This article will look into the list of players who won the award in the last 10 years.

UEFA Men's Player of the year winners (2011/12- 2020/21)

Andres Iniesta (2011-12)

Image – Getty Images

Andres Iniesta played a pivotal role for Barcelona and Spain in 2011-12. He scored 8 goals in 46 appearances and provided 12 assists in all competitions 46 for Barcelona that season. Iniesta also had a huge contribution to Spain's Euro cup triumph.

Franck Ribery (2012-13)

Image – Getty Images

Franck Ribery was the stand out performer in the 2012-13 season. He scored 11 goals and provided 23 assists in all competitions for Bayern Munich. Most importantly, he went on to win the treble that year which made him the favourites to win the trophy.

Cristiano Ronaldo (2013/14, 2015/16, 2016/17)

Image – UEFA

Cristiano Ronaldo has won the UEFA Men's Player of the year 3 times which is more than any other player in history.

2013-14 – He scored a mammoth 51 goals and provided 17 assists for Real Madrid in all competitions and also went on to win the Champions League.
2015-16 – Ronaldo scored 51 goals and provided 15 assists combined in UCL and Laliga. He won this award for the second time for his stunning performance with Real Madrid in UCL and winning it for the club.
2016-17 – He scored 42 goals as 12 assists for Real Madrid in all competitions. He also helped the club in winning both UCL and Laliga that season.

Lionel Messi (2014/15)

Image – World Soccer

Lionel Messi has won the award two times in his career. The first came in 2010/11 and the second in 2014/15. He scored a humongous 58 goals for Barcelona that season and also provided 31 assists in all competitions. Leo bagged his 4th UCL that season and also completed a treble; winning the Laliga, Copa-Del-Rey and the UCL.

Luka Modric (2017-18)

Image – Getty Images

Luka Modric was awarded the UEFA Men's Player of the year for his stunning performances with Real Madrid and Croatia. He helped Real Madrid complete a 3 peat of UCL and also guided Croatia to the World Cup finals. He also won the World Cup golden ball for his performance with Croatia in the World Cup.

Virgil Van Dijk (2018-19)

Image – Liverpool FC

Virgil Van Dijk made history by being the first defender to win the award. His impact on the Liverpool team was incomparable. Van Dijk played a very crucial role for Liverpool in their 6th Champions League triumph.

Robert Lewandowski (2019-20)

Image – UEFA

Robert Lewandowski was by far the best player in Europe in the 2019-20 season. He scored 55 goals and provided 10 assists for Bayern Munich in all competitions. He won the treble with Bayern Munich that season and completed a sextuple later.

Jorginho (2020-21)

Image – Marca

Jorginho is the latest name on the list winning the award for the first time in his career. He had an unbelievable season both with Chelsea and Italy. He won the ever precious UCL with Chelsea providing them firm control in the midfield, and months later he went on to win the Euro with Italy which made him a strong contender to win it this year. Jorginho beat his teammate Kante and Kevin De Bruyne to this award.

Related Stories

No stories found.